Options

Sub 4:30 anyone?

Comments

• Options

IveIced decided to follow a sub 4:30 marathon. I did Brighton last year in 5:07:44. I suffer with cramp in marathons, but managed fend it off until 22 miles year and knock 10 mins of my pb. I would happy with 4:45.

• Options
    booktrunk wrote (see)

Timr: quick!!!image I think you should be looking at sub 4 if you can do that already and not feel shattered. If that's less than 80% effort, then again right place if you Burn up to much energy in your training.

Do you have a current marathon time? 

You might need more of a telling off for starting to fastimage do you use a Garmin if so you really need to use it to go slow enough in your race image

Yes. definitely. See my post above, we probably cross posted. My half marathons have been getting quicker and I've always started out at predicted pace based in the Half Time. I'm still learning...

Results so far:

Rutland 2010 4:54
    Rutland 2011 4:47
    Rutland 2012 4:39
    New Forest 2013 4:50

New Forest was the hardest run I have ever done, I thought I was in real trouble at the end. London should be simple. image

• Options

welcome to Tracey G and Millthyme image.  Millthyme, what is your training like?  and have you done any halfs or other long runs/races?

TimR - I was at Rutland 2010 and must have finished quite close to you - I was 4.51.55.  Found it quite lumpy (I live in Boston!) and haven't been back - yet!

• Options

Millthyme welcome and as Keggy says i suppose it depends what you have done in that time. 

Ive been running a similar amount of time and constantly question whether i am ready or not.  Only one way to find out!! 

Plus i imagine Booktrunk will suggest that with more than 22 weeks to go the fact you have run at all means you are over-prepared :P

• Options

Keggy - I've done 21 marathons (8 Beachy Head marathons). I find it hard to training for marathons due to having a 14 year old autistic son and hubby that does shift work.