FLM Virgin

Comments

• Right time to put some things straight for you Pinks!! You are doing extremely well with your times!!! 10 min miles is very good I am a 10m miler on average and I have been running for 6 years. 10 min miling will get you round in 4.30 (a very respectable time which I haven't managed yet!!)

Make your shorter runs quality sessions like George said - speed, hills etc. They will make you faster and improve your indurance. One session should be at marathon pace (whatever that might be) and then there will be your LSR done at least 1min mile slower than your race pace.

No one should be a slave to their schedule missing one or even 2 runs in a week will not affect you ultimately (unless it becomes a regular occurance when you need to revise your goal or your schedule.)

If you are not careful Pinks you will push yourself into an injury which you really dont need right now. Enjoy your running and dont pressure yourself into times which you are not capable of this year. Live to race faster another day!!!!!!!!
  • thanks both of you for being so grounded and keeping me that way too. i started reading John (the penguin) Binghams book last night and that really helped too. felt much more positive so got up half an hour early and did a quick short run - just under 3 miles. that certainly woke me up!! now can rest for the remainder of the day and tomorrow to prepare for lsr on saturday. i am determined to start (and end) slow on that 12 miler. do you know the easiest way to work out what speed i need to run at to do eg 11-11 1/2 min miles (I'm a lawyer - i can't do maths!) because then i can just keep an even steady pace. i need it in km/hr though because that is what my watch/footpod thingy uses.

mmm...also note what you say re injusries in pushing too hard...had achy kneew and feet this last week/10 days.

thanks again - can't tell you how brilliant it is to have you to speak to!!