Options

Paris Marathon 2013

Comments

• Options

Rick - I'm not experienced by any stretch, but the 18 for you sounds okay I'd say. Mrs Rick adding an extra three miles each week isn't ideal because of the risk of injury, but as long as she takes care, especially if there's any hills on the route, she should be okay.

Kaz - glad you escaped. Bet you were relieved when you got in touch with the manager.

• Options
    DannirrDannirr ✭✭✭

Thanks for the encouragment all - I'm going to go out for my LST tomorrow morning but anything uncomfortable in the foot and I'll bag it. Even if it makes me look wimpish in front of the crowds image  

Iain - the night walk?  You are too young to know it personally, and professionally you are working a little higher up in the GU tract....however, BPH gets us males all in the end image

ALL - an appeal.  Without being specific as to the details,  I need you all to send massive encouragement and persuasive thoughts to DV. He'll understand.

• Options
    James R. I agree with OO. just see Newhart can be done tmrw and on race day go with the flow.

Emmy, I wasn't angry in that vid. I'd had a 7 week taper thanks to being ill and DNF'ing in Rome, so Paris was my fallback race. I'd been aiming for a 2h50 mara last year ans set my new target for Paris at 2h55. I came across the line with 12 seconds to spare but I suffered a fair bit to make it. That was a shout of relief!

Sally. Lovely story. Yes long runs feel like that. Managing energy input is really important. Your head goes screwy when you run low on blood sugar. The brain is proportionally the biggest user of blood sugar in the body, so when your muscles use it all up you do start to go a bit doolally image

Iain. Look up eccentric stretching for your Achiiles and also make sure you haven been doing Soleus stretches too. Strongly advise you have a very easy week. Maybe no running at all. Get your bicycle out for cardio instead.